Five unexpected ways children change your life

“Having children will change your life,” people told me before I became a dad.

It was hard to appreciate exactly what they meant until it happened, but the other day a train went past as I was walking into town and I had a barely controllable urge to point at it and shout “Look! Train!”

Having children makes you see the world through different eyes. Fatherhood has given me – a born worrier at the best of times – new things to worry about (I’ve never driven so carefully as the day I drove home with my baby daughter in the back of the car), but also magical moments to savour and celebrate. There’s something uniquely wonderful about sharing your child’s little achievements, like taking their first steps, counting to five for the first time, learning to read…

Here are five small examples of how life is never the same once you’re a parent:

You get excited about vehicles – and might even wave at them

Young children – especially little boys – love vehicles, especially trains, tractors and diggers. These modes of transport may not excite you personally, but once you get in the habit of pointing them out, it’s difficult to stop, even if you’re on your own.

The ultimate vehicular excitement is if someone in that vehicle – it could be a passing boat or train – waves at your child or, if it’s a car, honks their horn. My kids watched cars passing under a bridge when we were out on a walk, and when one of the drivers saw them and honked his horn, they squealed with delight. It’s hard not to share that thrill.

Steam train, Llanberis, Snowdonia

Look, a train!

You become obsessed with poo and wee

Your children will, at some stage, develop a fascination with poo and wee. They will probably make up songs about them. Poo and wee are hilarious. Fact.

They’re not the only ones who are obsessed with poo and wee, though. You probably reach the obsessive stage before they do, and you’ll soon find yourselves discussing what was in your child’s nappy – “It looked like chicken korma!” – or how many times they’ve used their potty. You won’t just discuss it between yourselves; you’ll chat in detail about poo and wee with other parents, or even non-parents, quite possibly while eating tea.

You’ll develop an in-built toilet tracker

You’re planning a trip out. What is the single most important thing you need to know if you have young children? Where the toilets are. Because the poo and wee obsession carries over into a very practical need to know the location of every toilet in the vicinity.

At some point in your outing, you will hear the alarming phrase “Daddy, I really need a wee!” and your toilet-locating reflex will kick in. You will never hear a child say “I think I will need a wee in ten minutes so I’m just warning you”. The need for the toilet will be a full-on, red-alert emergency and the bit of your brain that says “Marks and Spencer, top of the escalator, turn right” is all that can save you from disaster.

You will have to sing in front of people

Children like learning songs and, until they become painfully self-conscious, will enjoy performing their songs to you. You don’t get away with just listening, though. You will often be required to sing songs to them, either for their amusement or so they can learn the words.

There is no humiliation filter, though. They will inevitably want you to sing in front of other people. I had to perform “We represent the Lollipop Guild” in the style of Munchkins from the Wizard of Oz in front of two friends from work. They’d only popped in for a coffee.

You will become soppy

The way you love your children will change you forever. It has made me become a soppy fool. I suddenly see everyone as someone’s child, who needs love and encouragement.

I’d never cried at a film or TV programme before I had children (except ET when I was six). Recently, I’ve cried at two episodes of The Ghost Whisperer, and I even get a lump in my throat watching wildlife documentaries. Why are there always baby elephants getting lost and looking for their mum and dad?

10 Comments on “Five unexpected ways children change your life”

  1. Great to see another bloke writing about such things. Every paragraph that you wrote brought a knowing smile to my face. It sounds like your kids are a similar age to my two.

    I’m adding you to my follow list, and I’ll check out some more of your posts.

  2. Eeh Bah Mum says:

    I agree with the soppy bit especially. My advice to new parents would be to avoid watching comic relief/ sports relief/ children in need unless you have a huuuge box of tissues. Just donate and save yourself the agony.

  3. Haha, lost baby elephants got me the other day too! Thanks, brought a smile to my face on a day when being alone with the two year old and the 3 week old was proving more ‘interesting’ than hoped

  4. Liz says:

    Like it – especially the toilet locator – she’s 7 now – why can’t she give me a warning?!

  5. […] If you liked this post you might also like Mummy, there’s a dwarf in the bath and Five unexpected ways children change your life. […]

  6. […] love to talk, joke and sing about poo, and it’s never more entertaining than when discussed in an inappropriate setting (a café, for […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 269 other followers