Fighting fear and darkness with Yoda

If you’ve had depression, it’s hard to shake the nagging, niggling feeling that it might come back. Every bad mood, every negative thought, feels like it could be a way for this evil force to return. To help me fight the fear I’ve recruited a very wise consultant – Yoda (see my photo below).

Yoda is a tiny green chap with funny ears. He’s more than 900 years old and lives in a swamp. But his strange and underwhelming appearance is deceptive – he’s extremely powerful, with incredible knowledge and power.

OK, I know, he’s just a character from the Star Wars movies, but when it comes to understanding fear and the Dark Side of the Force (a perfect metaphor for depression) he’s well worth listening to.

Fear is the path to the Dark Side. Fear leads to anger; anger leads to hate; hate leads to suffering.

He is absolutely right. The fear of depression at stressful times is the first step down a path to its return. That fear can make you tense and angry. And anger is a very destructive force that leads to suffering for you and others. Even the name of the film this quote comes from – The Phantom Menace – seems to describe depression and its stealthy, shadowy presence.

He also knows what it feels like when depression does strike.

Hmmm. The Dark Side clouds everything. Impossible to see, the future is.

Yes, Yoda. You’re right again. Depression possesses your thoughts, switches off your memory and clarity of thought, and makes you doubt and fear everything. I certainly don’t want to go back to that. Ever.

Yoda clearly knows his stuff, so I am going to listen to him.

Do, or do not. There is no try.

OK, Yoda, I’m with you.

Patience you must have.

You’re right again. It’s difficult though, isn’t it?

You must unlearn what you have learned.

True. I learned in my counselling to unlearn what I’d learned – to unravel the way I’d come to think of myself and my life and start again.

Always pass on what you have learned.

Yep, that’s what I’m doing. I hope it helps.

If you liked this post you might also like:

Image

6 Comments on “Fighting fear and darkness with Yoda”

  1. This was really good, most folks with leanings to the dark side will relate to this, I know I did. Thanks. And may the Force be with you.

  2. Paul Byrne says:

    Super piece of writing….. and great analogies made…… well done dude…..

  3. Scott S. says:

    Yoda Kicks depression’s ass!! Thanks for the post.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 267 other followers