The Promised Land beyond depression

It’s 50 years since Dr Martin Luther King Jr gave his ‘I have a dream’ speech in Washington, but another of his speeches has stuck in my mind as a beacon of hope as I’ve fought depression.

Here’s an excerpt from it:

“… I’ve been to the mountaintop … And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the Promised Land… I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the Promised Land. So I’m happy tonight. I’m not worried about anything. I’m not fearing any man.”

I’ve often referred to life beyond depression as my Promised Land – a place it’s been a struggle to reach, but which I’ve never lost hope of discovering.

Here’s something I wrote in May 2012, as I was emerging from depression and starting to feel better:

“I haven’t reached my Promised Land yet, but I am hopeful that I will, and that it will be flowing with milk and honey. And maybe a cool beer. If your boat is still lurching about on the high seas, and the pirates have hijacked it, hold firm and set your course for the coast. We will be the winners in this swashbuckling adventure, and the riches shall be ours, me hearties.”

Like Dr King, I feel like I have seen the Promised Land. In fact, I’ve marched down the other side of the mountain and have one foot on the green pastures. One obstacle remains for me – coming off my antidepressants. After a failed attempt earlier this year, I’ve gone from strength to strength and have reduced my dose almost – but not quite – as low as it can go. It feels good, and, to paraphrase Dr King, I’m not fearing anything. I feel sharp, alert, and back in control of what my brain is doing. I can enjoy my life again, and will never again take that feeling of enjoyment and happiness for granted.

When you’re in the deep trough of depression, you feel like you will never get out. Even when you manage to take a few steps out of it, the path gets rocky, and you can easily stumble and fall. It seems never-ending. The sides of the trough are just too steep and treacherous. The light feels too far away.

All I can say is don’t give up hope. I think one of my favourite singers, Sam Cooke, put it perfectly in his incredible song A Change Is Gonna Come. Written five years before Dr King’s death, the song was about civil rights, but Cooke’s words bring comfort and hope whatever your battle:

There’ve been times that I thought I couldn’t last for long

But now I think I’m able to carry on

It’s been a long, long time coming

But I know a change gonna come

For me, yes, it’s been a long time coming, but that change has come. Next stop: the Promised Land.

6 Comments on “The Promised Land beyond depression”

  1. Two of the most memorable texts from the last century, not just the sixties, and words that have been with me for most of my life. King’s final words to the sanitation workers and his congregation that night have attained such significance since. I’m glad they give you support. As for Sam Cooke, a very sad story but he left a powerful legacy – I listened to this on my car cassette player only yesterday. All the best with your recovery.

    • paulbrook76 says:

      Thanks very much. Yes, I’ve read a few quotes from King’s speeches recently and find them really inspirational. And I only have to hear a few bars of A Change Is Gonna Come and I’m sure I get goosebumps!
      Cheers
      Paul

  2. Robyn Engel says:

    I’m here thanks to Stacey Berry. I’m HAPPY to meet another great person challenged by depression.

  3. […] is the Promised Land I’ve been trying to reach for a long time. So what’s it like? Am I spending every waking moment […]

  4. Irrational thoughts and fears can hinder your way of life but it doesn’t control your life. Join our webminar on 9th January 2014 and learn how you can stay from these thoughts and fears!

    For More detail visit http://strongestminds.com/teleseminar/heal-your-anxiety-depression-once-and-for-all-january-9/


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 268 other followers