Chipping away – at writing and depression

Dippyman has been rather neglected this year, and continues to stand at a crossroads as it creaks into its sixth year.

It’s partly been quiet on this blog because I’ve been working really hard this year and there hasn’t been much space left in my brain.

The force awakens

It’s also been quiet because – and I’ve kept this quiet up until now – I’ve been under attack from depression again for the last few months. It’s come in waves, with star turns from anxiety, paranoia, insomnia, forgetfulness, fear and random anger. I’ve been fine some days, and far from fine on others. It’s a reminder that, when recovering from depression, the force does awaken from time to time, and I have to be on my guard and look after myself.

I’ve taken my own advice at times. I’ve stuck with my diary of positive things, and made sure I plan things to look forward to – like my trip out to sea (pictures below), looking for seabirds, at the start of this month. I find the sea calming, and to be out there for nearly three hours was a great escape. Not only that, I saw two firsts – a fleeting view of a Black Tern (one of the bogey birds that’s eluded me for years) and a Sooty Shearwater, which obligingly whizzed round the boat in a circle so everyone could see it.

I’ve been a poster boy for functioning depressives.

At other times, I’ve forgotten everything I’ve ever learned about coping with depression, and have done the whole ‘soldiering on’ thing, not really telling anyone, trying to prove myself, and generally being stubborn. And – just to take my own advice for a moment and to be kind to myself – I’ve done a pretty good job of it. I’ve taken on a lot and achieved a lot. I’ve been a poster boy for functioning depressives.

Another thing I’ve been doing is writing some blog posts for the Blurt Foundation, an organisation I admire enormously. My latest one was a chance for me to do something different, using my own doodles to show what you don’t see about depression.

I also keep chipping away at my children’s story, Splot, which must be on its sixth draft by now, in the hope that one day I’ll be happy enough with it to try sending it to an agent or publisher.

Writer’s block

And, to be honest, I’ve struggled a bit with writer’s block. I’ve started and abandoned three or four posts, which I simply couldn’t get inspired by and couldn’t be bothered to finish. Each seemed OK when the idea had come to me, but had become deeply tedious by the time I sat down to write it. Heck, if I can’t be bothered to read my own writing, I don’t see why anyone else would want to.

However, bits of each of those abandoned posts have somehow ended up in this one – further proof that, if you want to be a writer, you just need to start writing. My plan tonight was, having abandoned yet another post, just to share some photos of the Yorkshire coast, but somehow the words trickled out in the end.

Recovery and persistence

That’s how it goes with recovery too, sometimes. It’s not all about big eureka moments, where you leap up and say ‘Ta-daaaaa, I feel amazing!’ Often, recovery is about sticking with it and chipping away, even when it seems hopeless and never-ending. It’s about persisting in a rather unexciting, unremarkable way, until eventually the light grows brighter and you realise you’re in a better place.

dsc02729

Blue sky and calm water as the boat leaves Bridlington for a seabird cruise.

dsc02734

Here come the gulls.

DSC02738.JPG

A distant view of the white cliffs of Flamborough.

dsc02760

Back in Bridlington.

9 Comments on “Chipping away – at writing and depression”

  1. Ian Young says:

    Sorry to hear that you’ve been experiencing depression again Paul. I hope it will lift soon.

    Well done on your two firsts. Both are splendid birds. A Cory’s Shearwater has been seen recently (not by me!) over Regent’s Park in central London.

    I’m going on an estuary boat trip at the end of the year. There’s a possibility of Divers.

    • paulbrook76 says:

      Thanks Ian. The estuary boat trip sounds brilliant. I’ve only ever seen red-throated divers, and that was just once. Good luck! I’m off birding to the coast next Friday, hoping for something unusual…

  2. rmwk100 says:

    What a great blog! Any time you want to talk when life is hard, I’ll always be glad to listen and share. love from Ruth XXXX

  3. Steve Jack says:

    Wonderful stuff, Paul. You have – perhaps unwittingly – explained so many truths about depression in that single piece of piercingly honest writing. All power, strength and positivity to you and your wonderful spirit. No advice needed from me – just keep going… you will get ‘there’ in the end 😉 Love and warm wishes. Steve

  4. Sam Sampson says:

    great blog….you describe the thoughts of many Paul! – keeping on keeping on….you’re doing grand! 🙂

  5. […] best bogey bird result since my mission has been the Black Tern. Last year, I finally saw one while out on an RSPB seabird cruise, albeit a glance of a winter-plumaged bird. This ghost was well […]


Leave a Reply

